Three Fires Council - 2023 CyberChip and Internet and Email Safety

Starting A Registration
How to start a new registration.
My Account - Part 1
My Account Basics
My Account - Part 2
Importing, Managing, and Using a Personal Roster
Parent Portal - Parents Guide
How parents can update registrations.

2023 CyberChip and Internet and Email Safety

Event Details

BSA TFC Training Team will present.....

Computer/Smart phone: Internet, eMail Safety                                                   

A focused discussion relating to the dangers of the most powerful tool exposed to today’s youth:  The Internet / eMail 

Who: All are welcome to learn about Tech Risks!  There’s now TWO versions of this presentation.

Cub Scouts: Fraud, Phishing, CyberBullying, Gaming

Scouts BSA: Fraud, Phishing, CyberBullying, Gaming, Social Media, Computer Viruses, Email Fraud Detection
(Cubs can attend this version too, but if they don’t have access to Social Media, Email or Computers it may be dry).

When: (Using a phone? Rotate 90)

 

2023

Winter/Spring 2023
Tuesday, January 10, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT <= Cub Scouts version
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT
Thursday, February 16, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT <= Cub Scouts version
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT
Tuesday, March 7, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT <= Cub Scouts version
Thursday, March 30, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT
Tuesday, April 11, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT <= Cub Scouts version
Thursday, April 27, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT
Wednesday, May 10, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT <= Cub Scouts version
Tuesday, May 23, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT <= Cub Scouts version
Thursday, June 15, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm CT

Times and dates will be added monthly. Day of the week will be rotated too.
Dedicated presentations for your unit is possible as well.

Times and dates will be added monthly. Day of the week will be rotated too.
Dedicated presentations for your unit is possible as well.

Where: Virtual

URL: See confirmation email after registering.

Cost: Free! 

 
BSA has recognized the serious implications of internet access to youth by adding internet safety topics to requirements back in 2008; in 2012 the CyberChip program was created but not added to requirements until most recently. CyberChip as a rank requirement for: Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, Arrow of Light, Scout, Star. 
 
Some fun facts relating to CyberChip are: 
** There are four different versions of CyberChip skills (two cards) depending upon your age 
** CyberChip MUST be signed off by a PARENT/Guardian and scoutmaster 
** CyberChip is only good for one year 

Discussion topics include navigating the CyberChip program, email fraud/spoofing, viruses and youth protection.

I am requesting youth AND parents attend. Parents: I have had a lot of parents report back that they learn as much as the kids do.  I not going to be overly graphic during my discussion, however, depending upon your child’s maturity level, I would encourage you to use the information provided to springboard further frank discussions in your own home. My suggestion is to answer any question from your child but also bring up some challenging conversation of your own. Push the conversation to the point of making your child slightly uncomfortable regarding the potential for badness (i.e. the conversation to a 10 year old should be very different to the conversation of a 17 year old).

​
 
For questions, contact Rich Fazio at rich_fazio@hotmail.com 
Contact
When & Where
February 16 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Thursday 02-16-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

February 22 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Wednesday 02-22-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

March 7 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Tuesday 03-07-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

March 30 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Thursday 03-30-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

April 11 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Tuesday 04-11-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

April 27 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Thursday 04-27-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

May 10 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Wednesday 05-10-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

May 23 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Tuesday 05-23-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

June 6 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Tuesday 06-06-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

June 15 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Thursday 06-15-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT
More Information

January 10 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Tuesday 01-10-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT Past
More Information

January 25 Session
ONLINE - From Home
Wednesday 01-25-2023 7:00 PM CT to 8:00 PM CT Past
More Information